Copperplate

A. Hogg : 158 items

Maps

A. Hogg    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1789
£60
32 x 22.5cm


Munster. The Province of Leinster -The Antiquities of England and Wales was first published by Alexander Hogg as a partwork between 1787 and 1789, and subsequently sold as a complete work from c1789. there were 3 later editions, the last in 1798. The work contained a set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin, which had originally been issued in the London Magazine, and several general maps covering Wales, Scotland and Ireland. The maps of North and South Wales, of Ulster and of Northern Scotland with the Orkneys and Shetlands had been used in a previous Hogg publication - The New British Traveller - but the other 3 Scottish maps and 3 Irish Province maps were new. Most were engraved by Thomas Conder, the exception being this map of Munster, engraved by Thomas Conder. It comes from the first complete edition of Boswell's Antiquities... in c1789.
Ref: IRL 011
 
A. Hogg    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1789
£65
20.5 x 30.5cm


Leinster. The Province of Leinster -The Antiquities of England and Wales was first published by Alexander Hogg as a partwork between 1787 and 1789, and subsequently sold as a complete work from c1789. there were 3 later editions, the last in 1798. The work contained a set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin, which had originally been issued in the London Magazine, and several general maps covering Wales, Scotland and Ireland. The maps of North and South Wales, of Ulster and of Northern Scotland with the Orkneys and Shetlands had been used in a previous Hogg publication - The New British Traveller - but the other 3 Scottish maps and 3 Irish Province maps were new. Most were engraved by Thomas Conder, the exception being this map of Leinster, engraved by Garnet Terry. It comes from the first complete edition of Boswell's Antiquities... in c1789.. A few light brown spots.
Ref: IRL 010
 

UK and British Atlases

A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England & Wales c1787-9
£1550
c16.5 x 21.5(Kitchin)c20 x 30(others)cm


Original full leather binding, rather rubbed and with the front cover detached. Internally a good and clean copy with just a few spotted pages. Issued as a weekly partwork from c1787-9.50 maps in total - 40 English counties, 2 of Wales, 4 of Scotland and one of each of the 4 Irish provinces. Virtually all the maps are in very good condition apart from 4 with slight spotting. All the English counties except Yorkshire are by Kitchin, using maps which first appeared in the London Magazine from 1747-63. The Leinster map is by Garnet Terry. The remaining maps are by Thomas Conder and 5 of them had previously appeared in Hogg's publication theNew British Traveller from 1784. Numerous topographical engavings throughout the text.
Ref: ABR 857
 

Topographical prints of Cambridge and Cambridgeshire

A. Hogg    The New British Traveller 1784
£20
22.5 x 33cm


Cambridge - Barnwell/Chesterton . Uncoloured copper engraving. Two illustrations on one plate.
Ref: TOP 1027
 
A. Hogg    The New British Traveller 1784
£6
24.5 x 14cm


Cambridgeshire - Camps Castle. Uncoloured copper engraving.
Ref: TOP 1028
 

Topographical prints - other areas

A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
18.5 x 13.5cm


Dunnington Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The remains of Donnington Castle, just north of Newbury, are today administered by English Heritage. This print was engraved by Thornton, and is supplied with the original accompanying text page and a plan of the castle.
Ref: TOP 232
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
16.5 x 27.5cm


Reading Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The ruins of the abbey and its associated buildings still stand in the centre of the modern town where Reading Council has plans to restore and develop the site. This print was engraved by Page, and is supplied with the original accompanying text. A couple of light brown spots.
Ref: TOP 235
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£5
17.5 x 15cm


Gothurst. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Gothurst (or Gayhurst) House is Elizabethan in date, though its estate dates back to the Norman conquest. The house is c4 miles from Newport Pagnell and survives today, having been converted into individual residential properties in the 1970's. This print was engraved by Lodge. A little foxing to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 114
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
22.5 x 34.5cm


Barnwell and Chesterton. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. At the time this print was taken, Barnwell and Chesterton were independent villages, but have since become suburbs of Cambridge. No artist's or engraver's signatures. A narrow right-hand margin, but with sufficient space to mount.
Ref: TOP 1433
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£5
24.5 x 16.5cm


Castle Camps. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Castle Camps was a Norman castle, around which grew the current village of the same name. It gradually fell into disrepair, and little today remains above ground, some of the wall being incorporated into Castle Farmhouse. The print bears no artist's or engraver's signatures. A few spots to the outer extremities of the wide margins.
Ref: TOP 109
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
23 x 35.5cm


East Gate, Chester; Sonne Gate, Coventry and Castle Ashby, Northants. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers 3 views on one sheet. Narrow vertical borders and a nick to the upper-left border.
Ref: TOP 153
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
22.5 x 33.5cm


Beeston Castle and Nantwich Church. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Beeston Castle was built in the 1220's by Ranulph de Blondeville, Earl of Chester. It was slighted by Cromwell during the civil war, and its ruins are today owned by English Heritage, who open it to the public. St. Mary's Church at Nantwich is one of the country's finest medieval churches and is grade 1 listed. Two prints on one sheet engraved by Lodge. A few brown spots and worm holes to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 138
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£20
30.5 x 22cm


The City of Chester. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This attractive print of Chester from across the river Dee bears no engraver's or artist's signatures. A couple of small worm holes and some light foxing to the margins, which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 1588
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
16 x 10cm


Chester Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Chester Cathedral dates from 1093, when it was built as the Abbey Church of a Bendictine monastery, and has been the seat of the Bishop of Chester since 1541. This print was engraved by Goldar after a drawing by Hamilton. A few light-brown spots but otherwise in good order.
Ref: TOP 619
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£9
18.5 x 32cm


Beeston Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Beeston Castle was built in the 1220's by Ranulph de Blondeville, Earl of Chester. It was slighted by Cromwell during the civil war, and its ruins are today owned by English Heritage, who open it to the public. This print was engraved by Rennoldson, and offers two view of the castle. It is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 612
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
18 x 15cm


Beeston Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Beeston Castle was built in the 1220's by Ranulph de Blondeville, Earl of Chester. It was slighted by Cromwell during the civil war, and its ruins are today owned by English Heritage, who open it to the public. This print was engraved by Lodge.
Ref: TOP 237
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
27 x 17.5cm


Lestwithiel Palace. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The Stannary Palace at Loswithiel was built by the Earls of Cornwall in the second half of the 13th century. It comprised several buildings with a variety of functions - law courts, taxation of the Cornish lead industry, a gaol, seat of the Stanarry Parliament, and general administration. Although badly damaged in the civil war several of the buildings have survived or been restored and remain in use today - still with various uses. This ananymous print shows the ruins of the Great Hall and another building - possibly the Exchequer Hall. A couple of small holes and some light foxing to the margin, all of which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 142
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
17.5 x 14.5cm


St. Michael's Mount. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. St. Michael's Mount is a rocky island in Mount's Bay adjoining the town of Marazion. It can be reached on foot at low tide, but is accessible at other times only by boat or amphibious vehicle. There have been buildings on the site since the 12th century, but since 1659 the castle has been the family home of the St. Aubyn family. The island is now mostly the property of the National Trust. This print was engraved by Lowry, and is supplied with the original accompanying text page from the work.
Ref: TOP 240
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
17.5 x 14.5cm


Pendennis Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Pendennis Castle was built by Henry V111 between 1539 and 1545, to protect the entrance to the river Fal from possible attack. It stands on a headland on the west bank of the river just outside Falmouth, and is today owned by English Heritage who open it to the public and hire it out for conferences and weddings. This print was engraved by Lowry.
Ref: TOP 241
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
17.5 x 30.5cm


Derwenwater, Broad Water and Windermere. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This anonymous print offers views of Cumbrian lakes. At the time it was taken the English Lake District was just beginning to find a wider audience for its picuresque beauty. Broad Water was the old name applied to two of the lakes - Bassenthwaite and Brothers Water. As this view of Broadwater is designated as in Westmorland it relates to the latter of the two.
Ref: TOP 116
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 32cm


Naworth Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Naworth Castle is located close to Brampton, and was built in the late 13th century. It is today the private residence of Philip Howard, brother to the Earl of Carlisle. It is not open to the public but can be hired for private functions. This print was engraved by J.G. Wooding and is supplied with the original, accompanying text page from the work.
Ref: TOP 243
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
16 x 10.5cm


Carlisle Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Carlisle Cathedral began life as an Augustinian Priory in 1122, but was soon promoted to cathedral status in 1133. It is one of the smallest cathedrals in the country, its nave having been partly demolished during the civil war. This print was engraved by Goldar after a drawing by Hamilton, and is suppplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 244
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 32.5cm


Lanercost Priory. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Lanercost Priory, near Brampton was originally an Augustinian foundation by Robert de Vaux, dating from c1169. Part of the priory church is still in use as the parish church, and the rest of the church survives, but without its roof. Most of the other monastic building have disappeared, but the site is today managed by English Heritage.. This print was engraved by J. Gooding and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 245
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
15 x 11cm


Castlerigg Stone Circle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Castlerigg stone circle is a Neolithic monument built around 3000BC, and is located in a spectacular location, surrounded by high mountains a few miles east of Keswick. This anonymous print is supplied with the original accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 246
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
24.5 x 15cm


Exeter. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers a perspective of Exeter from the south west.
Ref: TOP 082
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
24.5 x 16.5cm


Tavistock Abbey. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Tavistock Abbey was first founded in 961, though it had to rebuilt twice and most of the later buildings dated from the 15th century. It was a Benedictine foundation, located in the centre of the modern town of Tavistock. After the dissolution of the monasteries it fell graduallly into disrepair, was robbed of much of its stone, and the site rebuilt on. Today a few buidings from the complex survive, including the refectory, 2 gateways and a porch. This print has a little marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 085
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
22 x 33.5cm


Mount Edgecumbe & Plymouth Docks. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Mount Edgecombe is a promontary on the west bank of the river Tamar looking across Plymouth Sound to the modern dockyards and city beyond. It gets its name from the Edgecumbe family whose estate was here located. Edgecumbe House and its grounds are now jointly owned by Cornwall and Plymouth Councils and are open to the public. St. Nicolas Island from where the first view is taken is now known as Drake's Island. Two prints on one sheet - a little foxing to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 084
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
22 x 33cm


Dartmouth Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784
Ref: TOP 083
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
15 x 10cm


Exeter Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Exeter became the seat of the Saxon bishop of Devon and Cornwall in 1050, but the Norman cathedral was not founded until 1133, and not completed until c1400 due to changes in architectural taste. This print was engraved by Thornton. A little foxing to the margins.
Ref: TOP 251
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
23 x 15.5cm


Blandford Forum - the principal street. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print showing the town's main street, was one of two adjacent views on one sheet. It has been remargined to the top where separated from its twin.
Ref: TOP 108
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
21.5 x 32cm


Sherborne, Northampton and Lichfield. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print shows panoramic views of 3 towns spread across the country, including the Dorset town of Sherborne. The Sherborne view is stated to have been taken from Jerusalem hill, with the town just visible in the distance. A little light foxing to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 152
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£12
31 x 20cm


High Force on the River Tees. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. High Force is a waterfall on the River Tees, neat Middleton-in-Teesdale. The river forms the boundary beween Durham and North Yorkshire and the falls are impressive, especially when in full spate.
Ref: TOP 126
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£12
24.5 x 16.5cm


Durham Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Durham Castle is of Norman origin, and was built in the 11th century. It stands high upon a hill that is the town's citadel, facing the Cathedral and looking down upon the River Wear. Since 1840 it has been used by Durham University, who run tours for public access.
Ref: TOP 051
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
24.5 x 15.5cm


Lumley Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Lumley Castle was built in 1389 by Sir Ralph Lumley as a remodelling of his manor house. Since then it has served as the seat of the Bishop of Durham, and as accommodation for students at Durham University, but is now a luxury hotel on the outskirts of Chester-le-Street. This print has a little marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 129
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
18.5 x 15.5cm


Wanstead House. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The Palladian mansion of Wanstead House was built in 1715 by Sir Richard Child, whose ancestors beacame one of the richest families in England. When the male line died out in 1805 the house and vast estates were inherited by 16 year old Catherine Tylney-Long. Catherine unfortunately made a bad marriage and by 1820 her husband had squandered her fortune and run up huge debts. The house was sold in 1822 and shortly afterwards completely demolished and sold piece-meal to pay his creditors. Part of the grounds survive today as a municipal park.
Ref: TOP 128
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
19.5 x 15cm


Bristol. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This anonymous print has been remargined to the top border where separated from another view on the same sheet. A little marginal foxing which would be mostly hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 112
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
18.5 x 15cm


Thornbury Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Thornbury Castle was built from1511 for the 3rd Duke of Buckingham, Edward Stafford, who was later beheaded by Henry VIII for treason. It is today a luxury hotel. This print was engraved by Richardson, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text. A few spots.
Ref: TOP 259
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
22 x 33cm


Portsmouth - The Town and Harbour. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Portsmouth grew in importance as a town and a naval base from the 15th century. This print offers two views on one sheet. A little foxing which could be totally hidden by mounting within the border.
Ref: TOP 083
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
18.5 x 14.5cm


The Priory of St. Dionysius, Southampton. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The Priory of St. Dionysius (also known as St. Denys or St. Denis) was founded by King Henry I in1184. It was situated some 3 miles north of the city centre. After the dissolution of the monasteries decay and stone robbing have meant that only a few fragments of the original priory buildings survive today. This print, engraved by Richardson, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work. A few ligt spots.
Ref: TOP 266
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
16 x 10.5cm


Winchester Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Winchester Cathedral is of Norman foundation, begun in 1079 and consecrated in 1093, when the adjacent Old Minster which it repaced, was demolished. It is one of the largest cathedrals in the country and houses the tombs of a number of notables, including Saxon Kings, St. Swithun, and Jane Austen. This print was engraved by Thornton and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 267
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
16.5 x 11cm


Christchurch Priory. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The site of today's parish church has housed religious buildings since around 800AD. The Normans constructed today's church in the first half of the 12th century. It was originally a secular minster, but became an Augustinian Priory in 1150. After the dissolution of the monasteries most of the monastic buildings were demolished, but the Priory Church survived as the parish church. This print was engraved by Sparrow. A couple of spots to the margin, but otherwise good.
Ref: TOP 268
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
17.5 x 31.5cm


Brompton Brian and Goodrich Castles. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. This print, engraved by Lowry, offers two views on one sheet. Brampton Bryan Castle in NW Herefordshire guards the Teme valley route from Ludlow into central Wales. It was first mentioned in Domesday Book. Since 1294 it has been owned by the Harley family, but fell into decay after damage in 2 civil war sieges. Goodrich Castle stands on the River Wye to the south of the county, and dates from the mid 12th century. It was also besieged in the civil war and subsequently sleighted. Its ruins are owned and opened to the public by English Heritage.The print is supplied with the original accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 276
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
16.5 x 11cm


Hereford Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Today's Hereford Cathedral was begun in 1079, replacing an earlier church which had occupied the site for around 200 years. Its greatest treasure is probably a 13th century Mappa Mundi (map of the world).
Ref: TOP 277
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
22 x 18cm


Gorhambury House. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This anonymous print shows Old Gorhambury House, an Elizabethan mansion close to St. Albans. This house was replaced by a new Palladian mansion built between 1777 and 1784, after which the old house was left to decay. Its ruins are today maintained by English Heritage with free public access. The new house survives as the home of the Earl of Verulam. For ease of mounting the print is remargined to the lower border where separated from an adjoing view.
Ref: TOP 117
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
17 x 10.5cm


Hitchin Priory. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Hitchin Priory was founded in 1317 as a house for White Carmelite Friars. After the dissolution of the monasteries it was converted into a country house but gradually decayed. A few fragments of the original building survive today, having been incorporated into the fabric of the18th century mansion, now a hotel and known by the name of Hitchin Priory.
Ref: TOP 280
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
23 x 33.5cm


Gravesend and Woolwich from the Thames. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers 2 views of north Kent towns from the river. The bottom-left corner of the white margin is missing, but the print would still frame up successfully.
Ref: TOP 097
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
19.5 x 23cm


Foots Cray Place and Hayes Place. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Foots Cray Place, near Sidcup, was built in 1754 for Bourchier Cleve. The property was ravaged by fire in 1949, and demolished the following year. Hayes Place was the home of the elder and younger Pitt, who both became Prime Minister. The property was bought by Pitt the elder in 1754 and remodelled. Later owners demolished the house in 1933 for redevelopment. The print was a waterstain to the top-right border, and some marginal foxing. Both faults would be hidden by judicious mounting.
Ref: TOP 121
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
23 x 34.5cm


Chelsea from Battersea & the Thames at Northfleet. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers two views, both featuring the River Thames. Narrow right-hand margin.
Ref: TOP 098
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
22 x 17cm


Canterbury. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Some foxing and worm holes to the margins of the print, which could be hidden by judicious mounting.
Ref: TOP 144
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
19 x 30cm


Barfreston Church. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Barfreston is a small village between Canterbury and Dover, which has as its parish church, one of the best preserved Norman churches in England. It dates from the 12th century, and is too small to have its own belltower, this difficiency being remedied by hanging the bell ina nearby yew tree and ringing it from within the church by a series of levers. This print was engraved by Peltre.
Ref: TOP 285
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
19 x 31.5cm


The Grand Door of Barfreston Church. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically two (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Barfreston is a small village between Canterbury and Dover, which has as its parish church, one of the best preserved Norman churches in England. It dates from the 12th century, and is too small to have its own belltower, this difficiency being remedied by hanging the bell ina nearby yew tree and ringing it from within the church by a series of levers. This print was engraved by Peltre.
Ref: TOP 286
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
18.5 x 14.5cm


Canterbury Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. A moote and bailey castle was built in Canterbury by William the Conqueror soon after the Norman invasion. This was replaced by a new castle in stone on a nearby site, built between 1100 and 1135. The remains - mostly the keep - are today owned by the local authority and open to the public. This print, engraved by Goldar, is supplied with the original accompanying text page and plan of the castle from the work. A couple of spots.
Ref: TOP 293
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£7
19 x 14.5cm


Bradsole Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. St. Radigund's Abbey at Bradsole was founded in 1191 as a Premonstratensian religious house, a few miles from Dover. Today the gateway is still mostly intact, and a few other surviving ruins have been incorporated into the farmhouse which occupies the site. This print was engraved by Goldar. A few light, marginal spots.
Ref: TOP 292
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18 x 15cm


Saltwood Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Saltwood Castle, just outside Hythe, is recorded as dating from 488 when it was first built by Aesc, King of Kent. It was passed to the ownership of the church in 1026. It was rebuilt in stone by the Normans in the 12th and succeeding centuries. It still stands today as the private, family home of the Clark family. This print, engraved by Taylor, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 296
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 32cm


Ostenhanger House. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Ostenhanger, or Westenhanger, House is a fortified manor house built c1343 by the de Criol family on an estate near Hythe once owned by King Canute. Over the years the house became neglected and was reduced in size, but has been subject to much restoration by the current owners since the 1990's. It remains a private house but can be leased for conferences and weddings. This print, engraved by Coote, offers 2 views and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 297
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£12
23 x 34.5cm


Leicester and Lincoln. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers views of two East Midlands cities. Both were important Roman towns, built on or near the sites of earlier tribal capitals. Leicester's Roman name was Ratae Coritanorum, and Lincoln's was Lindum Colonia. The 2 views could be separated and separately mounted, as indicated by the images.
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£12
17.5 x 31cm


Lambeth Palace & Westminster Abbey and St. Margaret's Church. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Lambeth Palace sits on the south bank of the Thames, and is the London residence of the Archbishop of London. The complex has been rebuilt and extended over the centuries, with the earliest surviving part being Lollards Tower, dating from 1435-40. The first Westminster Abbey was founded by Edward the Confessor, but the present building was begun in 1245, with work continuing until 1517. The two western towers were addded by Hawksmoor between 1722 and 1745. The Abbey has been used for all royal coronations since 1066. This print, engraved by Taylor, offers two views on one sheet. Some marginal foxing and a nick to the lower margin would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 102
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
23 x 34.5cm


Mortlake and Hammersmith from the Thames. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print is the ideal present for a fan of the University Boat Race offering views of the mid-way and finishing points of the race. Narrow right-hand margin, but enough to mount successfully. A little browning affecting the lower-right margin.
Ref: TOP 101
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
27 x 17.5cm


The Thames and the stairs at York Buildings, London. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print is taken from the spot where York House, one of the great Thameside Mansions on the Strnad once stood. The watermen's stairs known as York stairs were build to an elaboarte Italianate design around 1626, and still survive, though now located in the Embankment Gardens some way away from the river. At the time they were built York House was owned by The de Vililers family, Dukes of Buckingham. The second Duke sold the house for redevelopment in 1672, and the new buildings on the site were collectively called York Buildings. A little marginal foxing to the print would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 099
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
22 x 34cm


The Bishop of London's seat at Fulham, & Lord Stormont's House, Wandsworth. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Fulham Palace was the residence of the Bishops of London from the early 8th century. In 1973 the Bishop's seat was relocated and the old palace became a museum, with its grounds now used as a botanic garden and allotments. The Lord Stormont here referred to was the 7th Viscount Stormont, David Murray. The family seat was at scone, but Murry needed a residence near London to pursue his political career, and chose this viilla on Wandsworth Hill, probably leased from Lady Rivers. He later became the Earl of Mansfield in 1793, inheriting Kenwood House. Two prints on one sheet. A little marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 092
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
21.5 x 32cm


Gunnersbury House, Wanstead House, and a detail from Bethlehem Hospital. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers 3 views. Gunnersbury House was a Palladian mansion in Brentwood built sometime prior to 1742 for John Maynard. The house shown here was demolished in 1801, when the estate was sold and split into two, resulting in its replacement by 2 new houses. These still stand in Gunnersbury Park. Wanstead House was another Palladian mansion, completed 1722 for Sir Richard Child. It was demolished in 1825 when the site was sold to pay the gambling debts of the then owner William Wellesley-Pole. Bethlehem (or Bedlam) Hospital dates back to a foundation of 1347, and is Europe's oldest psychiatric hospital. At the time of this print (which shows a detail from the gateway) it occupied an impressive building in Moorfields which had opened in 1676. The hospital moved to a new site in Southwark in 1815. A little marginal worming and foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 090
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
18.5 x 32.5cm


Sion House & Kenwood House. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Syon House was built in the mid 16th century for the Duke of Somerset, being subsequently acquired by the Percy Family, Dukes of Northumberland, in1594. It continues as the family's residence today, and is open to the public. Kenwood (originally Caen Wood) House in Hampstead was built in the early 17th century, and in 1754 was acquired by William Murray, Ist Earl Mansfield, who engaged Robert Adam to remodel and add to it in the 1760's and 70's. In 1925 it was purchaed by Lord Iveagh who gave it to the nation 2 years later, and it is today administered by English Hertitage who open it to the public. Two views on one print. A light stain to the lower title.
Ref: TOP 091
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1764
£10
22.5 34cm


Kensington Palace, Ranelagh & Vauxhall Gardens. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Kensington Palace was built c1605 as a Jacobean mansion. It was bought by King William IV and Quenn Mary II in 1689, was remodelled and extended by Wren and became the main royal residence in London until 1860, since when it has been the home of junior and lesser members of the royal family. Vauxhall and Ranelaugh were London's two great "Pleasure Gardens", offering a garden walks, food and drink and a range of entertainments, including musical concerts in rotundas. They were popular venues for assignations between the sexes. Vauxhall opened to the public in c1660 and Ranelaugh in1742. Thier heyday was the 18th century, with both being closed by the mid 1800's. Both survive as garden - at least in part - as a public park in Vauxhall, and Ranelagh as the site of the Chelsea flower show. This print offers 3 views on one sheet. A little marginal foxing which could be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 088
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
23 x 34.5cm


Chelsea from Battersea & The Thames, near Northfleet. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Two "London" based views of the Thames. At the time of this print Chelsea was still a village, and would not be joined to the growing metropolis for another 60 years or so. Northfleet was of importance for its dockyards, with a number of shipyards building large vessels for commercial companies such as the East India company. A narrow right-hand margin, but sufficient for mounting.
Ref: TOP 098
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
21.5 x 17cm


The Duke of Chando's Seat at Southgate. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The Duke of Chandos residence was Minchenden House in Southgate, now a London Borough, but then a village. The house was built some little time after 1664 for Sir Thomas Wolstenholme, with alterations in 1738 by a later owner, John Nicholl. Nicholl's daughter married James Bridges who subsequently became the 3rd Duke of Chandos, and the house was owned by him at the time this print was taken.. It later fell into disrepair, and was sold and demolished in 1853. This print has been re-margined to the lower border where separated from another view on the same sheet. A liitle marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 089
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1764
£7
22.5 x 34.5cm


The Churches of St Pancras and Hornsey. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print shows the Old St. Pancras Church, which probably dates back to the 11th or 12th centuries, though most of its fabric is later. It ceased to be the parish church in 1822, when replaced by the New St. Pancras church on Euston Road. It was much restored and remodelled in the mid 19th century and continues as a place of worship today. St. Mary's Chruch in the village of Hornsey (now north London) dates from the 13th century. Althougn replaced as parish church by 2 later builds, it has survived both and continues in use today. This print offers views of both churches. A little marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 103
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£12
35.5 x 21cm


Chiswick Gardens and the Serpentine River. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The first Chiswick house was a Jacobean house built in 1610. By the 1700's the property was owned by Lord Burlington who built a new Palladian Villa, and from about 1720 developed the gardens with William Kent and other architects. Both house and gardens were modelled on Roman exemplars. The Jacobean house was demolished in 1788. The Villa and gardens have been restored in recent years and survive today under a Trust. They are administered and opened to the public by English Heritage. The gardens are free of charge.
Ref: TOP 104
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£7
24 x 14.5cm


The Duke of Argyll's house at Whitton. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. In 1722 Archibald Campbell, later to become the 3rd Duke of Argyll, bought 40 acres on Hounslow Heath adjoining the hamlet of Whitton. From c1732-5 he built there a Palladian Villa to a design by Roger Morris who oversaw the build. The house was known as Whitton Place and was accompanied by substantial gardens.in the late 1840's the villa was demolished and the estate was sold, much of it being developed for housing in the 20th century.
Ref: TOP 151
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
22.5 x 34cm


Hampton Court & Chertsey. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Hampton Court was constructed by Cardinal Wolsey in c1514, and passed to Henry VIII on the cardinal's fall from power in 1529. Under William and Mary the palace underwent massive extension in the Baroque style between 1688 and 1694. It is today managed by "Historic Royal Palaces" and open to the public. Chertsey is a very old town which grew up around Chertsey Abbey, founded in 666 AD.It became a Thames crossing of importance, but at the time of this print was possibly most famous for its cricket team who in 1778 heavily defeated a side representing "the rest of England". A narrow right-hand margin, but sufficient to mount, thus also hiding a few marginal spots.
Ref: TOP 154
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales 1787-9
£10
16.5 x 29cm


Old St. Paul's Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The old cathedral of St. Paul was built between 1087 and 1314, on a site which had housed 3 previous churches. It was destroyed in the great fire of London in 1666, and subsequently rebuilt in Baroque style to a design of Sir Christopher Wren, the new building being completed in 1708. The cathedral is the seat of the Bishop of London. This print offers 3 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work. A couple of light spots.
Ref: TOP 312
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
21 x 32.5cm


Cheapside and Baynards Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. At the time of this print Cheapside was the site of a major produce market and an important thoroughfare linking the City of London with Westminster. Cheapside actually means "market place". The first post-conquest Norman Baynards Castle was built by Ralph Baynard on a riverfront site to the east of the modern Blackfriars Bridge. It was demolished in 1213, and in 1276 the site became part of Blackfriars Priory. In the late medieval period a new mansion gradually evolved on a close-by site, now owned by the Dukes of York, which also became known as Baynard Castle. In turn this became the royal palace of Henry Vii and Henry VIII before passing to the Dukes of Pembroke and later the Dukes of Shrewsbury. The house was destroyed in the great fire of London in 1666, though some substantial ruins survived to be incorporated into later wharfs and timberyards. The site is now occupied by a BT office block. This print offers 2 views engrved by Wooding, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 314
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18 x 32.5cm


Sion House and Kenwood House. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. yon House was built in the mid 16th century for the Duke of Somerset, being subsequently acquired by the Percy Family, Dukes of Northumberland, in1594. It continues as the family's residence today, and is open to the public. Kenwood (originally Caen Wood) House in Hampstead was built in the early 17th century, and in 1754 was acquired by William Murray, Ist Earl Mansfield, who engaged Robert Adam to remodel and add to it in the 1760's and 70's. In 1925 it was purchaed by Lord Iveagh who gave it to the nation 2 years later, and it is today administered by English Hertitage who open it to the public. Two views on one page, engraved by Roberts, and supplied with the original,accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 316
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
24 x 17cm


Norwich Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Norwich Castle was founded by William the conqueror and built from 1066-75. The keep was rebuilt in stone from 1095-1110. The castle was used as a gaol from 1220 to 1887, when it was bought by the city corporation and opened as a museum in 1895. It still serves as the city's museum and art gallery today.
Ref: TOP 081
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18 x 14.5cm


Castle Acre Monastery . The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The Cluniac Priory was built in the grounds of the castle of Castle Acre, and was consecrated between 1148 and 1148. After the dissolution of the monasteries the priory fell into decay, eventually passing into the hands of the Earls of Leicester, who still own the site today. The ruins of both the priory and the castle are managed by English Heritage and open to the public.
Ref: TOP 322
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
21.5 x 32cm


Northampton, Lichfield and Sherborne. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print shows panoramic views of 3 towns spread across the country, including the county town of Northants. A little light foxing to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 152
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
23 x 35.5cm


Castle Ashby & Sponne Gate, Coventry & East Gate, Chester. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This anonymous print offers 3 views. Castle Ashby is the ancestral home of the Compton family, built on lands given to the family in 1512. In 1574 Lord Compton demolished the old 13th century castle on the estate to build the present house, still standing today and occupied by the present Earl Compton. The gardens and grounds were, in part, designed by Lancelot "Capability" Brown, and are open to the public. Spon gate was one of the 12 gates in Coventry's defensive walls, constructed in the 14th century. It was demolished in the late 18th century. Chester's East gate, stands on the site of one of the 4 original gates into the Roman Legionary Fortress which occupied the site. The present gate was built in 1768, with its clock added in 1899. The print has narrow vertical margins and a nick to the upper-left border, but would mount-up successfully.
Ref: TOP 153
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
24.5 x 16.5cm


Daventry Priory. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Daventry's Cluniac Priory was origianlly founded in Preston Capes, with 4 monks, but shortly afterwards removed to Daventry. It was dissolved by Henry VIII in 1525, and the site given to what is now Christ Church College, Oxford.The Priory church became the town's Parish Church, until the late 18th century, when it was replaced by today's parish church.
Ref: TOP 080
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 14.5cm


Boughton Church. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The village of Boughton lies 4 miles to the north of Northampton's town centre, being today a suburb of the town. The church illustrated in this print, engraved by Peltro, is the Old Church of St. John, which was a picturesque ruin at the time this print was taken, its tower and spire standing a few years longer until c1785. A few fragments may still be found to the north of the village green. The Old Church was replaced as the parish church by what had hitherto been the Chapel of St. John the Baptist, dating from c1350. It has been much extended since then and still serves the parish.
Ref: TOP 324
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18 x 14.5cm


St. Sepulchre's Church, Northampton. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The Church of the Holy Sepulchre is one of only 4 surviving round churches in the country. It was founded in the early 12th century by Simon de Senlis, and is probably modelled on the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem (which de Senlis is likely to have visited when he took part in the first crusade). The original short nave was later extended and a chancel and aisles were added. The church was extensively restored in the 19th century by George Gilbert Scott. This print, engraved by Wooding, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 325
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18 x 14.5cm


Monastery of the Black Friars, Newcastle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The order of Dominicans (The Blackfriars) founded their friary in Newcastle in 1239. It is sited to the NW of the city centre just within the city walls. Upon the dissolution of the monasteries, most of the buildings were demolished and the site passed to the city Corporation, who in 1552 leased out the remaining cloister buildings to the city's craft guilds. With the decline of the guilds the buildings fell into disrepair. They were restored by the Corporation between 1973 and 81, and are now leased out as craft workshops and a restaurant, though the Tanners Guild also still meet there. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 328
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
19 x 14.5cm


Mitford Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Mitford Castle dates from the late 11th century, and had a number of owners before it was destroyed in the early 14th century, possibly by the Scots. Much of its stone was used to build a Jacoberan Mansion, but the remaining, imposing ruins still stand on a hill overlooking the small town of Mitford, near Morpeth. Its current owners are conserving and restoring the remains with grant aid from English Heritage. This print, engraved by Roberts, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work. A few spots.
Ref: TOP 330
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 32cm


Lindisfarne Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The island of Lindisfarne (or Holy Island) lies 1 mile off the north Northumbrian coast, and joined to the mainland at low tide.A Priory was founded there by St. Aidan in 634 AD, and which under St. Cuthbert became a leading centre for learning and the Christian faith, producing such works as the still surviving Lindisfarne Gospels. The monks fled the island in 878 after attacks by the Vikings and Danes, but the Priory was re-established in 1093, and continued until the dissolution of the monasteries, after which the buildings decayed. The ruins are today in the care of English Heritage and open to the public. This print, engraved by Wooding, offers 2 views on one sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work. A couple of light spots.
Ref: TOP 335
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 31.5cm


Hulne Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Hulne Abbey was a Carmelite Priory founded in 1240 near Alnwick. After the dissolution of the monasteries the site passed to the Percy Family, Dukes of Northumberland. It is still owned by them and the substantial ruins in what is now Hulne Park are open to the public (pedestrians only). This print , engraved by Peltro, offers 2 views on one sheet, and is supplied with the original text from the work. A little marred by foxing.
Ref: TOP 337
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 31.5cm


Newstead Abbey & Ruins in Nottingham Park. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Newstead Abbey was founded in 165 as an Augustinian Priory. After the dissolution of the monasteries the site passed to the Byron family in 1540, and was converted to a country house. By the time it was inherited by Lord Byron, the estate and house was much declined, and financial problems forced him to sell it in 1818. It is today owned by Nottingham Corporation who open it to the public. The "Ruins" described in the print, are part of Nottingham's system of over 500 caves, cut into the sandstone underlying the city. The earliest of the caves date back to to the late 13th century, and over the years they have served as cellars, a tannery, homes and air-raid shelters. Today some are open as a visitor attraction under the title "City of Caves". This print, engraved by Roberts, offers two views and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 341
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
19 x 12.5cm


Blenheim Palace, Woodstock. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The construction of Blenheim Palace began in 1705, on land gifted to John Churchil, Duke of Marlborough, by a grateful nation in recognition of his victory at the Battle of Blenheim during the War of the Spanish Succession. Parliament voted funding for the build to which the Duke also contributed. The architect was Sir John Vanburgh and the house was mostly completed by 1725, in the English Baroque style. Quarrels between the Royal House household and the Marlboroughs, and between the Dutchess and the Architect contributed to the delay, causing disruptions to the flow of funding. The house remains the seats of the Dukes of Marlborough today, and is open to the public. This print has been remargined to the top border, where separated from an adjoining view.
Ref: TOP 120
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 14.5cm


Friar Bacon's Study, Oxford.. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Friar Bacon's Study (or Tower) was a 3 story building straddling the north end of South or Folly Bridge, carrying the main Oxford-Abingdon road across the Thames. It was lived and worked in by the 13th century alchemist Roger Bacon, but demolished in 1779 to allow for road widening. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 343
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 14.5cm


Banbury Church. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The Church illustrated is the old parish church, dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin. It dated from from 12th century, but its mid 15th century tower was too heavy and contributed to structural problems, exacerbated by civil war damage.. By the mid 18th century these problems were so great that it was decided to replace the building. In 1797 it was pulled down and replaced by the present parish church. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 344
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 14.5cm


Godstow Nunnery. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Godstow Nunnery was a Benedictine Abbey dating from 1139 when the Abbey Church was consecrated. It became famous as the resting place of Rosamund Clifford, mistress of Henry II, but after the dissolution of the monasteries was converted to a private house. Severe damage in the civil war resulted in its subsequent decay and abandonment. Its ruins can still, however, be visited on the banks of the Thames about 2.5 miles from the centre of Oxford. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 345
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 16cm


Oxford Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The first castle in Oxford was built by Baron Robert D'Oyly between 1071 and 1073. By the mid 12th century it had been extended and rebuilt in stone. Over the years it has seen many changes, being used as a family stronghold, a prison, an administrative centre, and a couthouse. Much of the medieval castle was lost in alterations made during the civil war, and the keep was demolished in the early 18th century, as the site was gradually redeveloped. The main use was as a gaol, although the prison finally closed in 1996. The site is now mixed use, housing a hotel, restaurant, offices, and heritage attractions which continue to show what remains of the medieval castle. This print, engraved by Eastgate, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work. A few spots.
Ref: TOP 347
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 32cm


The Chapel & Old Kitchin at Stanton Harcourt. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The Manor House at Stanton Harcourt, 6 miles west of Oxford, was built by the Harcourt family in medieval times. In 1688 it ceased to be the family's main residence and fell gradually into disrepair. It was mostly demolished in the mid 18th century, leaving the chapel, kitchen, gatehouse and some other features as picturesque ruins by the time this print was taken. The gatehouse was extended and refurbished in the 19th and 20th centuries, and is occupied today as a private residence. The site is still family owned.This print, engraved by Noble, offers 2 views on one sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 348
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 14.5cm


Grace Dieu Priory. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Grace Dieu Priory, near Thringstone in NW Leicestershire, was founded as an Augustinian Priory by Roesia de Verdon around 1235-41. After the dissolution of the monasteries it was converted to a private residence, before most of the buildings on the site were demolished in the late 17th century. The ruins of the Priory still survive in private ownership. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 351
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
18.5 x 14.5cm


Oakham Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Oakham Castle was built between 1180 and 1190 for the Lord of the Manor, Walchelin de Ferriers. Although designated a castle, a better description of the property is probably a fortified Manor House, of which today only the great hall survives - an excellent example of its type. The hall is famouse for its collection of decorative horseshoes presented by visiting royalty and other dignitaries. The site is today owned by Rutland County Council, with free public access. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 352
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-89
£8
18.5 x 14.5cm


Acton Burnell Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The village of Acton Birnell is 9 miles SE of Shrewsbury. By 1283 it contained a Manor House belonging to Robert Burnell, Bishop of Bath and Wells, and was the site of an early Parliament convened by King Edward I. From 1284-93, the house was fortified by licence of the King. Over succeeding centuries the property passed through the hands of several families, but fell gradually into decay, and many of the buildings had been demolished by c1650. The ruins of the manor house, and gables of its great barn still survive in the care of English Heritage, who provide access without charge. This print was engraved by Eastgate. A few light spots.
Ref: TOP 355
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 15cm


Halesowen Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Halesowen Abbey is situtated in what was until 1844 an outlying portion of the county of Shropshire. It was founded in1215 as a Premonstratension house. After the dissolution of the monasteries the site was allowed to decay and many of its buildings were robbed for their stone, with some parts of the site incorporated into the outbuildings of Manor Farm in the 18th century. Today the ruins are maintained by English Heritage with free public access. This print was engraved by Noble, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 356
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
19.5 x 16.5cm


The City of Bath. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Bath was a well known spa town in Roman times, and the original Roman baths still survive. It regained its reputation as a Spa resort in the late 17th century, and was further developed as such by the Georgians, with many of the city's iconic building being constructed in the 18th century, giving Bath an architectural integrity which justifies its status as a World Heritage Site. This print has been remargined to the lower border, where separated from an adjoining view on the same page. A little marginal foxing, which would be mostly hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 111
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
19 x 15cm


Chapel of St. Joseph of Arimithea, Glastonbury Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The Chapel of St. Joseph is part of the surviving ruins of Glastonbury Abbey. According to one tradition, the Abbey was founded in the 1st century AD by Joseph of Arimethea, but in actuality its first foundation dates from the 7th century AD. The old monastery was mostly destroyed by fire in 1184, but reconstruction began immediately afterwards, and the Abbey grew into one of richest in the country. After the dissolution of the monasteries, it passed into private ownership, and the site was robbed of much of its stone. The surviving ruins are today owned by Glastonbury Abbey Trust, and open to the public. This print, engraved by Noble, is supplied with the original, accompanying text from the work. A few spots to the margins.
Ref: TOP 358
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
15.5 x 28cm


The Cathedral Churches of Bath and Bristol. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The "so-called" Cathedral Church of Bath is now a misnomer. Bath Abbey is today the Parish Church. It was formerly the church of a Benedictine Abbey, raised to cathedral status in 1090 when the Bishop transferred his seat from Wells. The existingl Abbey church was subsequently much rebuilt. In 1245 status disputes between Wells and Bath were resolved by the Pope, who gave them joint status, though Wells became the Bishop's seat once again, but after the dissolution of the monasteries, much of Bath Abbey was demolished apart from part of the nave which became the Parish Church. This print, engraved by Thornton, offers 2 views on 1 sheet and is supplied with the original accompanying text from the work.
Ref: TOP 360
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
22 x 37.5cm


Two views of Shugborough House . The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The Shugborough Estate was originally owned by the Bishops of Lichfield, but passed into private hands after the dissolution of the monasteries. In 1624 it was acquired by William Anson, whose grandson, in 1693, demolished the old manor house and replaced it with a new 3 story house which forms the core of today's mansion. Shugborough Hall was extended with the addition of pavillions in the 1740's. The house remained in the Anson family (later Earls of Lichfield) until 1960, when it was passed to the National Trust who open it to the public. This print offers 2 views on 1 page. Some foxing to the (narrow) margins which could be mostly hidden by judicious mounting.
Ref: TOP 146
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
21.5 x 32cm


Lichfield, Northampton & Sherborne. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print shows panoramic views of 3 towns spread across the country, including the Staffordshire cathedral city of Lichfield. A little light foxing to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 152
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 32cm


Dudley Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The first castle at Dudley was built shortly after the Norman conquest, but the present day remains date from the rebuilding in the13h and 14th centuries or later. Much of that castle was demolished after civil war sieges in the 1640's, and a fire of 1750 destroyed the remaining inhabitable buildings, leaving a romantic shell for 18th and 19th century picturesque tourists. The owners, the Dukes od Dudley, incorporated these into the new Dudley zoo in1937, and zoo and castle are today a joint visitor attraction. Althoughthe town of Dudley was historically part of Worcestershire the castle was located in an enclave of Staffordshire until county borders were rationalised in 1926. This print, engraved by Noble, offers 2 views on 1 sheet. A little spotting.
Ref: TOP 363
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
cm


Alderton Church. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Alderton is a small village about 6 miles noth of Felixstowe. The partially ruined church of St. Andrew is interesting and picuresque. The oldest parts of the church date from the 14th century and the tower was built in the 15th century, but apparently not very well. It progressively collapsed to its current height and state of ruination from the 17th century up to 1821. With no tower, the church bell is today mounted on a wooden framework in the churchyard. The rest of the church was restored by the Victorians. This print, engraved by Noble, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 365
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
21 x 15cm


Cardinal Wolsey's College, Ipswich. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Cardinal Wolsey came from Ipswich and attended the local small grammar school. In 1528 work began on a new Grammar School in the town, intended by Wolsey as a feeder to his recently founded Cardinal College in Oxford. Unfortunately the school was unfinished by the time of Wolsey's fall in 1830, and most of what had been built was demolished, though the school was later refounded by King Henry VIII and survives today as Ipswich School on a different site. The original site of Wolsey's College passed into private hands, and today only one gateway of the original complex survives, known locally as "Wolsey's Gate".
Ref: TOP 366
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 15cm


Orford Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Orford Castle was built by King Henry II beween 1165 and 1173, as a check on the power of the local and rebelliously-inclined Bigod family. In 1336 it passed into private hands under the ownership of the Earls of Essex, but gradually fell into the decayed state shown on this print, with only the unusual keep surviving. Today it is owned and managed by English Heritage, who open it to the public. This print was engraved by Noble.
Ref: TOP 367
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£12
17.5 x 31cm


Lambeth Palace & Westminster Abbey and St. Margaret's Church. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Lambeth Palace sits on the south bank of the Thames, and is the London residence of the Archbishop of London. The complex has been rebuilt and extended over the centuries, with the earliest surviving part being Lollards Tower, dating from 1435-40. The first Westminster Abbey was founded by Edward the Confessor, but the present building was begun in 1245, with work continuing until 1517. The two western towers were addded by Hawksmoor between 1722 and 1745. The Abbey has been used for all royal coronations since 1066. This print, engraved by Taylor, offers two views on one sheet. Some marginal foxing and a nick to the lower margin would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 102
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
23.5 x 35cm


Dulwich College, and Camberwell from the Grove. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Dulwich College is an independent, public school, founded in1619 by the Elizabethan actor, Edward Allen. It originally offered schooling for "twelve poor scholars", today risen to 1,500 rather less poor ones. At the time of this print Camberwell was still a rural village, but development had already begun along the street known as The Grove, and today the area's elegant Georgian houses have "Conservation Area" status. The print has a narrow right hand margin, but sufficient to mount.
Ref: TOP 095
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£9
23.5 x 35cm


Addington Place, Croydon, & The Royal Circus, St. George's Fields. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Addington Place is a Palladian mansion built in the early 1770's by the Trecothic family. From 1807-1930 it was owned by the Church and used as a London residence by the Archbishops of Canterbury when its name changed from "Place" to "Palace". It is today again in private hands and run as a country club, conference and banqueting centre, and wedding venue. The Royal Circus opened on Blackfriars Road in 1782 and put on equine and canine dramas. It burnt down in 1799 and again in 1805, after which it was rebuilt as the Surrey Theatre. It was finally demolished in 1934. The Obelisk shown in the print was erected in 1771 in honour of Brass Crosby, Mayor of London. It still stands today, but the open space of St. George's Fields succumbed to development from 1780. The print has a little light marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 094
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
20.5 x 34cm


The seat of Admiral Keppel, Bagshot & the seat of David Garrick, Hampton. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The Crown estate of Bagshot Park, was once a royal hunting park, and a house, known as Bagshot Park Lodge, was built there in1631-33 for the use of King Charles I. It was remodelled in 1766-72, apparently for occupation by George Keppel, Earl of Albermarle, but upon his death in 1772, it would appear to have been offered to his brother Augustus, Vice Admiral Keppel. This house was demolished in 1878, but the Park remains the home of royalty today. David Garrick was a prominent Georgian actor and theatrical manager. He moved to what was then called Hampton House in1754, first renting then purchasing and improving the property. The Adam bothers remodelled the house and Capability Brown assisted in the design of the gardens, which are notable for the Temple of Shakespeare, which still stands on the banks of the Thames, and is visible in this view. The house, today called Garrick's Villa, was converted into appartments in 1923. This print offers 2 views on one sheet. A little foxing to the margins which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 125
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller c1787-9
£9
22 x 34.5cm


Wandsworth & the Thames, Clapham from the Common. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers two views of what were then still rural retreats for those wishing to escape the hubbub of the busy City of London - a far cry from today's London Boroughs. Some foxing the the right-hand margin and decorative border, but could be hidden by mounting within the border.
Ref: TOP 093
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
22 x 34cm


The Bishop of London's seat at Fulham, & Lord Stormont's House, Wandsworth. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Fulham Palace was the residence of the Bishops of London from the early 8th century. In 1973 the Bishop's seat was relocated and the old palace became a museum, with its grounds now used as a botanic garden and allotments. The Lord Stormont here referred to was the 7th Viscount Stormont, David Murray. The family seat was at scone, but Murry needed a residence near London to pursue his political career, and chose this viilla on Wandsworth Hill, probably leased from Lady Rivers. He later became the Earl of Mansfield in 1793, inheriting Kenwood House. Two prints on one sheet. A little marginal foxing which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 092
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
21.5 x 36cm


Guildford & Birmingham. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Guildford's roots go back to Saxon times when it was an important centre housing a mint. A Norman castle was added around 1090, and an impressive 14th century guildhall is still extant. The town prospered, particularly from 1693 when the Wey Navigation opened, making Guildford the hub of an important waterway network. In the 20th century it also became a Bishop's seat and a University town, and is today the county town of Surrey. This print offers views of Guildford and Birmingham, but the views could be separated for separate framing. A little foxing to the top border and the margins.
Ref: TOP 086
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
22.5 x 34cm


Hampton Court & Chertsey. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Hampton Court was constructed by Cardinal Wolsey in c1514, and passed to Henry VIII on the cardinal's fall from power in 1529. Under William and Mary the palace underwent massive extension in the Baroque style between 1688 and 1694. It is today managed by "Historic Royal Palaces" and open to the public. Chertsey is a very old town which grew up around Chertsey Abbey, founded in 666 AD.It became a Thames crossing of importance, but at the time of this print was possibly most famous for its cricket team who in 1778 heavily defeated a side representing "the rest of England". A narrow right-hand margin, but sufficient to mount, thus also hiding a few marginal spots.
Ref: TOP 154
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
18 x 32.5cm


Guildford Castle & The Castle's Ancient Crypt. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Guildford Castle is of Norman foundation, probably dating from shortly after 1086, and added to over the years.It was a royal residence until 1611 when it passed into private hands. It has been owned by Guildford Corporation since 1885. The grounds are today public gardens, the gatehouse a museum, and the keep has been restored as a visitor centre. This print, engraved by Hawkins, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 370
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1797-9
£12
18.5 x 32cm


Lambeth Palace. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Lambeth Palace sits on the south bank of the Thames, and is the London residence of the Archbishop of London. The complex has been rebuilt and extended over the centuries, with the earliest surviving part being Lollards Tower, dating from 1435-40. Ths print, engraved by Ellis, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original accompanying text. A couple of marginal spots.
Ref: TOP 372
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
17 x 32.5cm


Lambeth Palace and Westminster Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Lambeth Palace sits on the south bank of the Thames, and is the London residence of the Archbishop of London. The complex has been rebuilt and extended over the centuries, with the earliest surviving part being Lollards Tower, dating from 1435-40. The first Westminster Abbey was founded by Edward the Confessor, but the present building was begun in 1245, with work continuing until 1517. The two western towers were addded by Hawksmoor between 1722 and 1745. The Abbey has been used for all royal coronations since 1066. This print, engraved by Taylor, offers two views on one sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 374
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
22 x 23.5cm


Brighton from the sea & Chichester. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Brighton (or Brighthelmstone as it was once called), was a small settlement at the time of Domesday Book, and remained a fishing village until its development in the 18th and 19th centuries into a fashionable seaside resort.This was helped by its patronage by the Prince Regent, the future George IV, who first visited in 1783, and later built his Royal Pavillion there in the 1820's. Chichester was an important Roman town, which became a Bishop's seat in 1075, and its cathedral - shown in this print - dates from that time. This print has a narrow righ-hand margin, but sufficient for mounting.
Ref: TOP 123
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
21.5 x 34.5cm


Arundel Castle & Lord George Lenox's seat at West Stoke. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. The construction of Arundel Castle was begun in 1067 by Roger de Montgomery. It guards the Arun gap through the South Downs, and has been owned by the Howard family, Dukes of Norfolk, since 1557. In the 18th and 19th centuries it was remodelled as a comfortable stately home, and is today open to the public. Lord George Lennox made his reputation as a soldier, but was also an MP, representing the constituencies of Chichester, and later Sussex betwenn 1761 and 1790. His house at West Stoke, 4 miles from Chichester, still survives as a private residence.The print has a few spots to the margins, which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 124
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
17 x 11cm


Winchelsea Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Old Winchelsea was a thriving port, dating from Saxon times, which was lost to encroachment by the sea in 1287. King Edward I founded a new town to replace it in 1288. New Winchelsea had fortified town walls and 4 gates, but never had a castle. The castle here mis-named is actually Camber Castle built in 2 stages from 1512-14 and 1539-55 to protect the port of Rye. Camber Castle is only just over 1mile from both Winchelsea and Rye. It is today maintained by English Heritage and open to the public. This print is engraved by Sparrow.
Ref: TOP 377
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 15cm


Boxgrove Priory (near Chichester). The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Boxgrove Priory was a Benedictine house founded by Robert de Haye around 1066. After the dissolution of the monasteries the Priory church was retained to serve the parish, as it still does today. Other ruins of the Priory, including its hospitium or guest house, are under the care of English Heritage with free access to the public. This print, engraved by Thornton, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 379
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 15cm


Battle Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Battle Abbey was built between 1070 and 1094 on the site of the Battle of Hastings. After the dissolution of the monasteriespart of the site became a private house, other parts being robbed for their stone. Some surviving ruins today form part of Battle Abbey School. Other parts are maintained by English Heritage and open to the public. This print was engraved by Thornton.
Ref: TOP 380
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
19 x 31.5cm


Lewes Priory. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Lewes Priory was a Cluniac house to the south of Lewes in the Ouse Valley. It was founded in c1081, and mostly demolished after the dissolution of the monasteries. Some remains still survive in public grounds owned by Lewes Town Council, and managed by a local Trust with free access. This print, engraved by Page, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text
Ref: TOP 381
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
23 x 35.5cm


Sponne Gate, Coventry & East Gate, Chester & Castle Ashby. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Castle Ashby is the ancestral home of the Compton family, built on lands given to the family in 1512. In 1574 Lord Compton demolished the old 13th century castle on the estate to build the present house, still standing today and occupied by the present Earl Compton. The gardens and grounds were, in part, designed by Lancelot "Capability" Brown, and are open to the public. Spon gate was one of the 12 gates in Coventry's defensive walls, constructed in the 14th century. It was demolished in the late 18th century. Chester's East gate, stands on the site of one of the 4 original gates into the Roman Legionary Fortress which occupied the site. The present gate was built in 1768, with its clock added in 1899. The print has narrow vertical margins and a nick to the upper-left border, but would mount-up successfully.
Ref: TOP 153
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
21.5 x 16.5cm


Greyfriars Gate and Church, Coventry. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Greyfriars Church was the monastic church of a Franciscan house, first recorded in 1234. Its tower and spire alone survived the dissolution of the monasteries, being incorporated into a new church built in the 1820's. This was largely destroyed by World War II bombing, but again the tower survived, Nearby once stood Greyfriars gate, one of the 12 gates built in the second half of the 14th century as part of the city's defences. Greyfriars gate was erected in1384 on the Warwick road It was demolished in 1781. The print is remargined to the top border where separated from an adjoining view.
Ref: TOP 118
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
24.5 x 16cm


Maxstoke Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Maxstoke Castle, about 3 miles from Coleshill, was built by Sir William de Clinton shortly after 1345. Since the 17th century it has been the family home of the Fetherstone-Dikes family, which it remains today. It is open to the general public for a short period each year (usually June), and for pre-booked tours.
Ref: TOP 105
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
21.5 x 36cm


Birmingham (and Guildford). The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This print offers views of both Bormingham and Guildford, but these could be separated for individual mounting if so required. At the time the print was taken, Birmingham was at the forefront of the industrial revolution, having grown from a midlle-sized market town to a major manufacturing centre over the course of the 18th century. It is today Great Britain's second largest city.
Ref: TOP 086
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
23.5 x 16.5cm


Appleby Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Appleby Castle was founded by Ranulph de Meschines in c1170. From 1269 until 1653 it was the home of the powerful Clifford family, before its conversion to a more comforatble mansion by its next owner the Earl of Thanet. Since then a new wing has been added and further updatings have occurred. Itis today a private residence, but pre-booked, private tours can be arranged.
Ref: TOP 140
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
17.5 x 30.5cm


Derwentwater, Broad Water and Windermere. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. This anonymous print offers views of 3 Cumbrian lakes. At the time it was taken the English Lake District was just beginning to find a wider audience for its picuresque beauty. Broad Water was the old name applied to two of the lakes - Bassenthwaite and Brothers Water. As this view of Broadwater is designated as in Westmorland it relates to the latter of the two.
Ref: TOP 116
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
10 x 19cm


Kendal Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Kendal Castle was built in the late 12th century by the Lancaster family, Baron's of Kendal. Its last enhabitant was probably William Parr, Baron of Kendal, and grandfather to Catherine Parr, who married King Henry VIII in 1543. By that time the Castle had been abandoned to decay. The site is today owned by the South Lakeland District Council who allow free access to the scant ruins. This print, engraved by Lowry, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 391
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
17.5 x 14.5cm


Shap Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Shap Abbey was a Premonstratensian house, built 1199 in a remote spot on the banks of the River Lowther a couple of miles from Shap. After the dissolution of the monasteries the site was robbed for stone to build Shap's Market Hall and Lowther Castle, but the impressive tower of the Abbey church still stands with other ruins. The site is owned today by the National Trust with free public access.
Ref: TOP 392
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
17.5 x 14.5cm


Brougham Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Brougham Castle lies c2 miles from Penrith, and was founded by Robert de Viexpont in the early 13th century.. In the 1260's it passed by marriage to the Clifford family, later Earls of Cumbria, who held is as one of their properties until 1676. It then passed to the Tufton family, Earls of Thanet, but was poorly maintained and eventually abandoned to decay. By the late 18th century it was a romantic, picturesque ruin. The Castle is today in the care of English Heritage and open to the public. This print, engraved by Coote, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 393
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
16 x 15cm


Salisbury. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Modern Salisbury originated from the removal of the bishop's seat from nearby Old Sarum, to a new site to the south. The new cathedral, built in the Earley English Gothic style, was begun in 1220 and mostly complete by 1280. The town grew up around it, receiving its royal charter and city status in 1227. It is notable for having the tallest spire of any British cathedral, and by the 14th century had grown to be the largest settlement in Wiltshire. The print has some worm holes and foxing to the margins, which could be hidden by judicious mounting as per our image.
Ref: TOP 143
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18.5 x 14cm


Malmesbury Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Malmesbury Abbey was founded as a Benedictine house in the late 7th centry AD, and the town of Malmesbury grew up around it. The current Abbey was constructed in the 12th century, and mostly complete by 1180. Two major collapses in the 16th century - to the main tower and the west tower - caused great damage to other parts of the fabric, resulting in the shortening of the church. After the dissolution of the monasteries the surviving part became the parish church, and continues to fulfil that role today. This print, engraved by Peltro is supplied with the original, accompanying text. A slight crease.
Ref: TOP 395
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18 x 14.5cm


Evesham Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Evesham Abbey was founded by St. Egwin between 700 and 710 AD as a Benedictine house, and by the late middle ages was one of the richest in England. After the dissolution of the monasteries it was gradually robbed of its stone by the local townspeople, and today the bell tower is the only substantial remain, this being of 16th century date. This print, engraved by Coote, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 400
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
18 x 14.5cm


Edgar's Tower, Worcester. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Worcester once had a castle, first built in the early Norman period, and strengthened over time. Edgar's Gate (here called Edgar's Tower) was the main entrance into the castle, and dates from the 14th century. No other part of the castle survives, and the gate is now the entrance into the cathedral precinct, its rooms being used by The King's School, Worcester. This print, engraved by M. Coote, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 401
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
17.5 x 32cm


Dudley Priory. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Dudley Priory was founded in 1160 by Gervase Paganel, Lord of Dudley. It was a dependecy of the larger Cluniac house at Much Wenlock. After the dissolution of the monasteries it gradually became ruinous, until Dudley County Borough bought the site and surrounding land in 1926. The land was developed for housing but the ruins were restored as the centrepiece of the new Priory Park which opened in 1932. This print, engraved by Coote, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 402
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
19.5 x 14cm


Scarborough. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Scarborough is rumoured to have been founded by a Viking raider, Thorgils Skarthi, no early evidence survives to support this legend. The town does, though, boast a Norman Castle dating from the 11th century, and by 1155 it was of sufficient importance to receive a charter from King Henry II, allowing it to hold markets. The popular song "Are you going to Scarborough Fair" has passed in musical history. In 1626 a mineral spring was discovered there, which gave rise to the construction and growth of Scarborough Spa, and visitors flocked to take the waters and partake in sea bathing. The town remains an important seaside resort today.
Ref: TOP 107
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
31.5 x 20cm


High Force on the River Tees. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Although un-named as such, this print shows the waterfall of High Force on the upper reaches of the River Tees, which forms the border between the North Riding of Yorkshire and Durham. Although impressive, its fall of 71 feet does not place it amongst Britain's highest waterfalls.
Ref: TOP 126
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
18.5 x 16.5cm


Wentworth House. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. in 1725 Thomas Watson-Wentworth, Ist Marquess of Rockingham began a new house on his estate to replace the old Jacobean brick house he had inherited. The new house was built in the English Baroque style, but before its completion, a new even larger east wing was begun, this time in the Palladian style. The finished result was two back to back mansions, joined as one huge house. The second Marquess (twice later Prime Minister of Whig goverments) continued to extend the house when he inherited in 1750, but after his death the house passed to the Fitzwilliam family. The family fell on hard times in the 20th century, when the estate and grounds were desecrated by coal mining, and death duties resulted in the sale of much of the house's contents. The family sold the house in 1989, since when it has had 2 private owners, but its future remains uncertain and it was recently Nov. 2014) reported to be again on the market.
Ref: TOP 127
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 14cm


Richmond . The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Richmond Castle was founded Alan Rufus first Lord of Richmond, as part of the Norman pacification of northern England. It was completed in 1086, and stands at the head of Swaledale overlooking the River Swale. It was strengthened by Henry II, including the building of the stone keep, but thereafter decayed and was partially in ruins by 1538. In the early 19th century it was restored and used as the HQ of the North Yorkshire Militia, for whom a new barracks block was built in the courtyard. Today it is owned by English Heritage and opened to the public. This print, engraved by Hawkins, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 413
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
18.5 x 32cm


Bolton Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Bolton Castle was constructed between 1378-98 by Richard, first Baron Scrope of Bolton, on the eastern edge of the Yorkshire Dales. In 1630 the last member of the Scrope family died, and through the female line the property passed to the Powlett family. It is today still owned by the 8th Baron Powlett, and is opened to the public, and available for wedding hire. This print, engraved by Thornton, is supplied with the original, accompanying text. A few spots.
Ref: TOP 404
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 32cm


Middleham Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Middleham Castle, in Wensleydale, was buily by Robert Fitzrandolph, third Lord of Middleham from 1190. In 1270 it passed into the hands of the powerful Neville family, and was later the home of the future King Richard III who married Anne Neville in 1472. It remained a royal property after Richard's death at the Battle of Bosworth, until it was sold by James I, after which it fell into disrepair. Today the impressive ruins are managed by English Heritage and open to the public.This print, engarved by Thornton, offers two views on one sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text. A few spots.
Ref: TOP 405
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
18.5 x 32cm


Fountains Abbey. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Fountains Abbey was a Cistercian house founded by 13 monks expelled from St. May's Abbey in York in 1132, but offered a site for a new house in the Yorkshire Dales by the Archbishop of York. From modest biginnings in grew (in 2 major building phases) to become one of the largest and richest monastic sites in the country. After the dissolution of the monasteries the site passed through several owners, who robbed it of salvageable materials, before being combined with the neighbouring Studley Royal Estate of William Aislaby in 1767. The estate was purchased by the National Trust in 1983, and is today managed on their behalf by English Heritage, who open it to the public. This print, engraved by Eastgate, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text page and plan of the site.
Ref: TOP 407
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 32.5cm


Bowes & Coningsburgh Castles. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The first Bowes Castle was built by Alan de Bretagne, Count of Brittanyaround 1386 within an old Roman fort. Henry II later rebuilt it in stone from 1171-4. Damaged in Scottish raods and by local insurgency, the castle was ruinous by 1340. Today it is owned by English Heritage who open it to the public. Coningsburgh or Conisburough Castle was built on the River Don shortly after the Norman conquest by William de Warenne, Earl of Srrey. It was rebuilt in stone in the late 12th century, but later suffered from subsidence and fell into decay. By the late 19th century it was a picturesque tourist attraction. A consortium undertook restoration in the 1990's and today it is maintained and opened to the public by English Heritage. This print, engraved by Eastgate, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text pages.
Ref: TOP 408
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
17 x 30.5cm


West Cowes Castle & Carisbrooke Castle. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. West Cowes Castle is one of 2 forts built by Henry VIII in 1539 to guard the mouth of the River Medina. In 1716 the fort was remodelled for residential use, and further adapted in 1856-8 as the Club House for the Royal Yacht Squadron, which it remains today. Carisbrooke Castle existed by 1100 when it was in the possession of Richard de Redvers, but forts existed on the site in both Roman and Saxon times. The castle was purchased by King Edward I in 1293, since when it has been a crown property controlled by a Warden. King Charles 1 was imprisoned there in 1648/9 prior to his trial and execution, and in more recent times it was home to Queen Victoria's daughter, Princess Beatrice from 1896-1944. It is today maintained by English Heritage who open it to the public. This print offers 2 views on 1 sheet, which could be separated for individual mounting if desired. A little marginal foxing would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 147
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 32.5cm


Carisbrooke Castle, Isle of Wight. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Carisbrooke Castle existed by 1100 when it was in the possession of Richard de Redvers, but forts existed on the site in both Roman and Saxon times. The castle was purchased by King Edward I in 1293, since when it has been a crown property controlled by a Warden. King Charles 1 was imprisoned there in 1648/9 prior to his trial and execution, and in more recent times it was home to Queen Victoria's daughter, Princess Beatrice from 1896-1944. It is today maintained by English Heritage who open it to the public. This print, engraved by Neigel, offers 2 views on 1 sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 414
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
22 x 16.5cm


Jersey - St. Hilary. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. St. Hilary is one of the 12 parishes of Jersey, and covers the majority of St. Helier, the islands largest town, which was once known by the parish name. The origins of the two alternative spellings are somewhat confused. One suggestion is that St. Helier was a martyred hermit living on the island in the first millenium, and his name was corrupted to "St. Hilary". An alternative version suggests a linkage with St. Hilary, Bishop of Poitiers, with the parish church being dedicated in his honour. The corruption of the names would then be in the reverse order. This print shows a view of the town from the sea, and was probably taken from Elizabeth Castle, which lies on an offshore islet in the bay. A little marginal foxing, which could be hidden by judicious mounting.
Ref: TOP 106
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£8
17.5 x 15cm


Peele Castle, Isle of Man. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Peel Castle stands on St. Patrick's Isle which has a causeway connection to the town of Peel.The first structure on the island was the Celtic monastery of St. Patrick, built sometime in the 10th century. Magnus Barefoot, King of Mann is believed to have built the first castle in the 11th century, incorporating part of the monastery, notably the surviving round tower. Most of the other extant castle remains date from the early 14th century. Within the castle precinct are the ruins of the cathedral of St. German, built in stages between the 12th and 14th centuries, but later abandoned to decay from the 18th century. The site is today maintained by Manx National Heritage and open to the public. This print has a little light foxing to the margins, which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 148
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
19 x 14cm


Castle Rushin (Rushen), Castletown, Isle of Man. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Castle Rushin stands in a central position in Castletown, the historic capital of the Isle of Man. The first timber castle on the site was probably constructed in the 9th centry AD, with later rebuilding in stone and additions from the 13th to the 16th centuries. It was originally a possession of the Kings of Mann, and subsequently fought over by the Scots and English, changing hands several times. After 1660 its densive importance reduced, and it fell into decay, though still used as a prison, until it was restored in the late 19th century. It has been owned by Manx National Heritage since 1988, and is open as a heritage centre and museum. This print, engraved by Peltro, is supplied with the original, accompanying text. A few spots - mostly to the margins - which would be hidden by a mount.
Ref: TOP 420
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
19 x 32cm


St Patrick's Church & St Germain's Cathedral at Peel Castle, Isle of Man. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The remiains of St. Patrick's Church and St. German's Cathedral both stand within the precints of Peel Castle, located on St. Patrick's Isle which has a causeway connection to the town of Peel.The first structure on the island was the Celtic monastery of St. Patrick, built sometime in the 10th century. Magnus Barefoot, King of Mann is believed to have built the first castle in the 11th century, incorporating part of the monastery, notably the surviving round tower. Most of the other extant castle remains date from the early 14th century. Within the castle precinct are the ruins of the cathedral of St. German, built in stages between the 12th and 14th centuries, but later abandoned to decay from the 18th century. The site is today maintained by Manx National Heritage and open to the public.
Ref: TOP 421
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 14.5cm


Brecknockshire - Trtior Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Trtior (or Tretower) Castle was first built around 1200 by the Picard family, originally in timber, but soon with the addition of a stone keep. The walls were later also rebuilt in stone. In the early 14th century a new fortified house (named Tretower Court) was built by the family outside the castle precincts. This offered much more comfortable and modern accommodation, and over time the castle fell into misuse and decay. In 1540 the properties passed to the Vaughan family until they sold them in 1783, after which Tretower Court also declined. It was saved by Government intervention in the 20th century, and is today maintained and opened to the the public by the Wesh Heritage Agency CADW. This print, engraved by Carey, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 422
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£10
18.5 x 14.5cm


Brecknockshire - Brecknock Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Brecon Castle was built in the late 11th century by Bernard de Neufmarche, brother of William the Conqueror. Its strategic position at the confluence of the Rivers Usk and Honddu, made it an iimportant military and administrative centre for the Lords of Brecon's control of the Welsh Marches.. The original castle was built in timber but soon strengthened and extended with new stoneworks during the 12th and 13th centuries. From the mid 16th century its defensive role declined, and it fell into disrepair and decay before its acquisition and restoration by the Morgan family, who gave it a new life as a hotel, which it remains today. This print, engraved by Carey, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 423
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£8
14 x 10.5cm


Caernarvonshire - Bangor Cathedral. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The site of Bangor Cathedral was originally occupied by a monastery established around 525 AD by St. Deiniol, of which nothing today survives. The earliest parts of today's cathedral date from the first half of the 12th century, but the building was damaged or destroyed several times thereafter, with rebuilding in between. Major reconstruction occurred from c1500 to 1532, and in Victorian times much restoration was done by George Gilbert Scott from 1868. This print was engraved by Thornton.
Ref: TOP 424
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£12
19 x 32cm


Cardiganshire - Cardigan and Aberystwyth Castles,. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. The first Norman castle at Cardigan was built around 1093. During the English-Welsh wars of the 12th and 13th centuries the castle changed hands several times, until it was captured in 1240 by the English and rebuilt and strengthened by Earl Gilbert of Pembroke. It saw action and suffered damage in the civil war, before becoming a prison in the 18th century. A Georgian mansion was built in the precincts in the early 1800's. In 2003 the site was bought by Ceredigion County Council, and has been under restoration. It is due to open to the public in April 2015. Today's Aberystwyth Castle was built by King Edward I between 1277 and 1289, though there may have been an earlier Norman castle on a different site.. It was captured and held by Owain Glyndwr from 1404 to 1408, but regained by the English as the Welsh revolt collapsed. It was slighted at the end of the civil war in c1649, and its surviving ruins are today managed by Aberystwyth Town Council and open to the public. This print, engarved by Eastgate, offers 2 views on one sheet, and is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 426
 
A. Hogg    Picturesque Europe c1878
£10
22.5 x 16.5cm


Merionethshire - Harlech Castle,. Picturesque Europe was a serialised partwork, designed as a showcase for steel and wood engravings after and by significant artists of the day. The 60 parts were published monthly from 1875 to 1880.When sets of parts were completed, they were also sold as complete volumes, building to a full 5-volume set, 2 volumes of which were devoted to the British Isles.This wood-cut print, engraved by J.W. Whymper from a drawing by W.L. Leitch shows Harlech Castle, which was built by Edward I between 1282 and 1289 on the Merioneth coast. It was captured and held for 5 years by the Welsh during the revolt of Owain Gyndwr, before reverting to English control in 1409. It played a role in the civil war after which it was slighted in 1649, subsequently decaying into a picturesque ruin much loved by artists and writers of the Romantic age. Its impressive ruins are today in the care of the Welsh Heritage body, CADW, and open to the public.
Ref: TOP 225
 
A. Hogg H. Boswell    The Antiquities of England and Wales c1787-9
£9
18 x 14.5cm


Montgomeryshire - Powis Castle. The Antiquities of England and Wales was the product of Alexander Hogg who was well known as a partwork publisher. Under the claimed authorship of Henry Boswell it was issued serially from c1787-9, and subsequently made available as a complete work. The format was typically 2 (though sometimes up to 6) prints to a page, with one or two accompanying pages of descriptive text on each pair of subjects. It also included the set of English county maps by Thomas Kitchin first used in the London Magazine from 1747-54. Powis Castle was the ancestral home af a dynasty of Welsh Princes, and was constructed around 1200. in 1266 the last hereditary Prince, Owain ap Gruffydd relinquished his royal title to become Baron de la Pole, retaining his estates. In 1579 his descendant sold both title and castle to Sir Edward Herbert, whose son became 1st Baron Powis. The castle underwent major updating and alterations from 1665-1690, and again from 1784 when the castle and its estates passed by marriage to the wealthy Edward Clive (son of Clive of India). In the early 20th century further updating was undertaken and today's famous gardens were created. The castle passed to the National Trust in 1952, and is open to the public. This print, engraved by Lowry, is supplied with the original, accompanying text.
Ref: TOP 439
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£10
34.5 x 22.5cm


Pembrokeshire - The Castle and Bridge of Haverford West. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. According to most sources the Castle at Haverforwest was founded by Gilbert de Clare in 1120. In 1213 it passed to William Marshall, Earl of Pembroke (who did much to strengthen the fortifications, then in 1248 to the de Bohun family, who in turn sold it in 1288 to Queen Eleanor of Castille, wife of King Edward I. The Queen undertook major reconstruction, but her work was undone when the castle was slighted and abandoned after the civil war. It was, however, re-modelled as a prison from 1779 to 1878, and subsequently as a police station, and council offices. Today it is administered and opened to the public by the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority. The bridge in the view was built in 1726 to replace the old ford across the River Cleddau. The print has some light discolouration and a couple of wormholes to the lower margin, which would be mostly hidden by judicious mounting.
Ref: TOP 137
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
33.5 x 22cm


Aberdeen. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Aberdeen has been an important centre since the 12th century when it received its Royal Burgh status from King David I. Its trade rosperd and it later bacame the site of one of the country's oldest universities in 1495. By the time this print was taken its economy rested mainly upon fishing, paper-making, textiles and ship building. The town suffered at the hands of both parties during the 14th century wars of independence, but recovered, and was subsequently strongly fortified, only to be plundered by both sides in the in 1640's wars of the 3 kingdoms (the civil war). Today it is Scotland's 3rd largest city, with a booming oil-based economy. This print has a small area of worm damage, just impinging the bottom-left hand corner.
Ref: TOP 130
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£9
25.5 x 32.5cm


Montrose in Angus and Channery in Ross-shire. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c 1783, and then as a complete work from 1784
Ref: TOP 135
 
A. Hogg G.A. Walpoole    The New British Traveller 1784
£15
35 x 23cm


Perthshire - The Town of Perth. The New British Traveller was one of a number of publications by Alexander Hogg aiming to tap the bouyant market for works on British topography and antiquities. It included text on each couny, a set of county maps by T. Conder and others, and numerous copperplate prints by a variety of engravers. The work was initially issued in 60 parts from c1783, and then as a complete work from 1784. Situated on the River Tay, Perth is a relatively modern name for the town, which until the mid 17th century was known as St. Johnstoun, the parish church being dedicated to John the Baptist. It was created a Royal Burgh in the 12th century, from which time the Kings of Scotland also came to be crowned at nearby Scone Abbey. The town was always a centre for trade, both locally and internationally, and around the time of this print was known for its linen, leather, bleach and distilling industries. A small area of worm damage to the bottom-left corner of the print, but would still mount-up successfully.
Ref: TOP 131